Resolution

It is the 6th day of 2014 and I have no idea how that happened. People always say they don’t know where the time goes but my 2013 disappeared quicker than a can of opened Pringles (those things are lethal, I recommend never opening one on your own). I feel like I’ve been busy for the past year. That’s probably because I have been. This post was meant to go up 7 days ago. The fact that I haven’t had time to write it until now is proof as to the very reason I need to do so.

I am not a big believer in New Year’s resolutions. I believe that if you don’t like something, you should change it. There and then. You don’t need a new year to make new beginnings. This year, however, I do have a resolution (let’s just say the timing worked out for it). My 2013 flew by because I was moving all the time. There was always something on. I became a stranger to my own home. I was hardly ever there.

I’ve always had a lot of different people in my life, friends from different circles. This, I believe, is an important part in leading a good life. It does, however, also happen to be a bit of an imposer on your time. It chews it up with dinner parties, catch up coffees, movie nights, sleepover nights, cocktail nights, party nights… Managing a social life can sometimes seem like a task in itself. We are taught to invest time in the people we care about, however last year I ran out of time for myself. Considering how invested I am in that relationship, I realised I need to make more time for it.

So, in 2014, I am going to be selfish with my time. I am going to put myself first. I am going to dedicate 2 nights a week to myself. One of these nights will be to get shit done. You know, all the little things, the mundane tasks that keep life plodding along one day at a time. I’m going to use one night to sort my shit out. The second night, I am going to use to get what I most want in this world. I’m going to use it to chase my dream.

Dreams are wonderful things to have, except when you want to make them a reality. Real life is difficult, and overcoming everything that is holding you back from your dream becoming reality is also difficult. It appears 2014 might be a bit of a difficult year for me. But, if I can use it wisely, it might also be the year my life starts.

Leave a Reply

