Making the Most of Spare Time

the-secret-to-getting-ahead-is-getting-started

I’ve recently quit my full time job, gone part time 2 days a week in another role and plan on using my 5 remaining days to get back into what I really enjoy; writing. That, and figuring out what I’m doing with my life. I can tell you though, walking away from a job when there is nothing concrete I was walking to, is simultaneously one of the most exciting, liberating and frightening things I have done in life. I was safe in the knowledge that freedom and potential were worth far more to me at that point than job security and a steady income (reading that sentence back it sounds insane, but it’s the truth). It was a big decision, a tough decision, and not one for everyone. I had hit a point where I had to get out; explore, learn, apply, fail and fail again, until I reach whatever it is I’m looking for. Like it or not, this new freedom brought with it 2 choices; I could chose to drown in it, become lazy and see my free time as an excuse not to leave the covers of my bed for days on end or, I could chose to be proactive with it, to work hard and use my time productively. Of course, I chose the second option. But being productive is far easier said than done. And in the middle of July, of winter, my bed covers seem to be calling my name very loudly. I had to come up with a plan; a check list of things to get done each day to keep me on track. I am great at following a plan previously put in place. Give me a uni syllabus, a work procedure manual, and I’ll smash it. But come up with a plan on my own, for myself, when I’m still figuring out what I’m even doing? This was new. It’s been a struggle to the point where I realised the hardest part was getting started. I thought that breaking things down into small, achievable goals was how you reached the final destination. That’s all well and good when you have a final destination. When you are without, sometimes the best thing you can do is jump in head first and let the planning come later. For me, my plan took on a slightly different look;

  1. Practise. Practise writing as often as I can about whatever I can, even if it isn’t very good. Practise.
  2. Research. Read up on topics of interest from all sources, all authors. Make notes on what is useful and apply it, question what is not. Do this until your brain explodes with knowledge and new opportunities unveil themselves.

With this altered plan, I am moving towards an effective use of all my free time.

Leave a Reply

