Queenstown: Snow, Sun and Some Life Lessons

I have been a little MIA from Mia Bella over the last week and a half but for good reason. I was taking a break from reality with a group holiday to Queenstown, New Zealand.

From the moment we landed, Queenstown was showing off with an amazing mix of wonderful white powder on a backdrop of bright blue skies. Something I had been looking forward to for months, the holiday didn’t fail to deliver.  It was 10 days of ‘firsts’ that left me feeling like I need a holiday from my holiday – complete with first time snowboarding, bungy jumping, jet boating and target shooting.

With an apartment overlooking the Frankton Arm of Lake Wakatipu and onto mountains layered with snow like cupcakes dipped in icing, you couldn’t ask for a better view. There’d be no bad starts to the day if that’s what you opened your eyes to every morning.

The only downside to the accommodation was no wi-fi, however even that turned into a good thing. When everyone’s first question upon check in is “what’s the wifi password?”, it was refreshing to take a break from real life in every way. For the first time in a long time, I didn’t once check my work emails while I was on holiday. I certainly didn’t care what the latest social media craze was (hint: the ice bucket challenge). I wasn’t concerned about my online life looking exciting with check-ins and photos – I was too busy actually being excited.

Aside from a getaway from reality, this was a snow holiday and learning to snowboard, particularly for someone who had never seen snow before, came with a few setbacks. I couldn’t tell you how many times I fell or how slow it felt like I was going compared to everyone else. Snowboarding, it seems, is kind of like life though, for two reasons;

1) No matter how many times you fall over, the best thing to do is get straight back up, wipe the dirt (snow) off your shoulders (butt) and keep going, learning a lesson from your fall and;
2) You may not be the fastest, strongest or most intelligent, but so long as you’re moving forward, you’re still 100 times better than all the people standing still.

All that said, now that I’m back to reality I am going to share with you some snaps from the trip, if only to continue that holiday buzz for as long as I possibly can!

Balcony view in QueenstownView from our balcony in Queenstown

Snowboarding at RemarkablesSnowboarding at Remarkables

Cardrona skifieldCardrona Skifield

Queenstown by nightQueenstown by night

Leave a Reply

