Father’s Day Changes As You Grow Up

When I was about 8 or 9 I went to Bunnings, along with a group of other kids, and made a tool box for my dad for Father’s Day. They were little wooden things that we painted and nailed together, with help from the staff. To this day, my dad not only still has the toolbox, but still uses it. There’s a bunch of hand-made cards and a spattering of other Father’s Day presents lying around our house still. Father’s Day was a really big deal when I was kid.

IMG_4106    IMG_4107

We hardly celebrate it anymore – a home cooked breakfast is the standard these days. That doesn’t mean there’s any less love or appreciation though. It simply means that some things are more important when you’re a kid – things like hand decorated presents. I mean literally, presents that have been decorated with your child’s painted hand print mean so much to new dads.

Father’s Day brings up a lot of mixed emotions and sentiments. There are people whose dads weren’t part of the family, people who wished their dads weren’t part of the family, people with no dad but two mums, dads who work away and never spend time with their kids, and amazing dads who have passed away and are sorely missed and cherished.

For me, Father’s Day is a reminder of how lucky I am to have someone in my life who has lived up to what a father figure should be. I’ve been a daddy’s girl from a young age and for good reason. My dad can be described the way a lot of people would describe a parent – caring, supportive, understanding, loving. He’s also smart, witty, trusting and really appreciative of his family.

My dad has always put myself and my brother’s happiness and well-being first and I can hardly recall a time he was too busy to come to a dance recital or netball game.  He’s the type of father who was home for dinner every night. I took that for granted growing up, purely because I didn’t know any different. I’ve also developed a high standard for men and love thanks to the great example he’s set with my mum. As an adult, I realise not everyone’s dad was like that. His attitude toward family life is something I aspire to have with my own children someday and I am forever grateful for the man he is.

389738_10150834496328248_1601416019_n

Leave a Reply

