Long Distance Christmas

Christmas Day has always been big for me. We celebrate with two lots of family gatherings, with anywhere from 20 – 30 people; grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, second cousins and enough food to sink a small ship. I’m not a Christmas nut; I get sick of Christmas carols playing in shopping centres before I even step foot inside; my family doesn’t all dress in red and green on the 25th of December and my house doesn’t have a Christmas light display. But, based on numbers alone, Christmas is a big day for me. It’s a family affair. I’ve never been away from home for Christmas. I know no different. I can’t imagine not being surrounded by family on this day.

Of course, not everyone is like this. Christmas is unique time in that it can simultaneously be the happiest and saddest time of year. Perhaps you never celebrate Christmas with your family or at all, or perhaps you always have and this is the first year away from family and friends.

This Christmas, some of my favourite people will be away from their family for the first time ever; be that because they have moved to the other side of the country, the other side of the world or are holidaying through the festive season.

I can’t pretend to know how these people are feeling – whether they are sad or happy or ambivalent about this. I just wanted to take a moment to acknowledge them, and let them know that I am sending love and season’s greetings, as I’m sure their families are too. I hope they, along with everyone else, find some Christmas cheer no matter where or who you spend the day with.

Leave a Reply

