The First Post From Melbourne Town

I have been all over the place lately. Unfortunately, that place hasn’t been within this blog. While I could sit here and make excuses, the truth is I’ve just been lazy. I’m happy to admit this because it’s been a conscious choice. I thought I would have all the time in the world to write when I moved to Melbourne. I anticipated being met with some solitude. I was wrong. It feels like I haven’t stopped since I first stepped off the plane onto Melbourne soil more than a month ago. Sometimes I can’t believe it’s been a whole month. Other times, I can’t believe it’s only been a month. Time is fickle like that.

One thing I can say for certain is that I’m very happy with this decision. In a place where so much is still so new, I’ve not once felt out of place and I believe that has a lot to do with it being the right move at the right time. Your mid twenties are a sweet spot in life – you’re old enough to be earning a decent living and therefore living a decent life, you’re selfish enough to put your needs first, brave enough to go after what you want and still young enough to make stupid mistakes without berating yourself over the notion of ‘knowing better’.

If I’m honest, even at times when I’ve complained over the past four weeks, I know this really couldn’t have gone any better. I want to write that I’ve been lucky but luck implies that there was no planning or effort involved. I have put in effort. Effort to find a good place to live, effort at work, effort to be social. I am proud of those efforts. That may sound contrived but it’s not often enough that we acknowledge our own efforts. It’s not often enough we stop and take stock of what we’ve accomplished. I’m pretty damn happy with mine.

Leave a Reply

